Skip navigation links

May 6, 2024

Two Spartan Engineers receive All-University Awards

MSU honors excellence in work and contributions 

 Two faculty members from the College of Engineering were recognized on May 1 when Michigan State University presented 2023-24 All-University Awards at the Kellogg Hotel & Conference Center. The awards are considered among the highest honors presented by MSU for excellence in work and contributions.

This year’s Spartan Engineering recipients are:




Spence is one of 10 MSU faculty members to receive a William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Award. The annual awards are based on a comprehensive and sustained record of scholarly excellence in research and/or creative activities, instruction, and outreach.


He is a professor in biomedical engineering and chemistry. He leads The Spence Group which applies analytical tools to solve problems in diabetes, sickle cell anemia, transfusion medicine, and platelet physiology.


Spence earned a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Grand Valley State University and his Ph.D. in chemistry at MSU. He held faculty appointments in chemistry at Saint Louis University and Wayne State University before returning to MSU in 2007.


Zevalkink received the Donald F. Koch Award for Quality in Undergraduate Teaching. The award recognizes teachers who are committed to their students and demonstrate substantial continuing involvement in undergraduate education.


She holds the C. Robert and Kathryn M. Weir Endowed Professorship in the College of Engineering’s Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science (ChEMS). Her research focus is on the relationship between the atomic structure and bonding in inorganic materials, and the resulting elastic, thermal and electronic properties.


Zevalkink joined ChEMS in 2016, received her bachelor’s degree from Michigan Technological University, and her Ph.D. at the California Institute of Technology.

See the entire list of this year’s MSU winners here.


Written by Eric Lacy, See more at the Engineering Media and Public Relations page.