Skip navigation links

May 23, 2024

MSU Engineering honors 16 for dedicated service

Retirees and service anniversaries in 2023

Five staff members retired from the Michigan State University College of Engineering in 2023. Additionally, 11 others have been honored for many years of service to Michigan State.

Engineering Dean Leo Kempel thanked each Spartan Engineer for their contributions and dedication.

"Their collective service represents hundreds of years of commitment and scholarship on behalf of the college and MSU," Kempel added. “Our college community is very grateful.”

The 2023 retirees are:

Maggie Blair-Ramsey – College of Engineering
Nancy Creed – Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering
Vanessa Mitchner – Division of Engineering Computing Services
Laurene Rashid – Electrical and Computer Engineering
Deborah Vasicek – Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering


15-Year Award Recipients

Santhosh Abraham – College of Engineering
Kathy Chomas – Civil and Environmental Engineering
Michael James – Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering
Kylie Kenyon – College of Engineering
Suzanne Kroll – Mechanical Engineering
Jamie Lynn Marks – Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering
Arthur Schober – Division of Engineering Computing Services

25-Year Award Recipients

Vanessa Mitchner – Division of Engineering Computing Services
Christopher Perry – Computer Science and Engineering

35-Year Award Recipients

Thomas Harpstead – College of Engineering
Brian Wright – Electrical and Computer Engineering

Contact Kelley Monterusso at Engineering Media and Public Relations. Maggie Dillon, a student writer and public relations assistant in the MSU College of Engineering, contributed to this story.